Saturday, January 07, 2017

Entitlemania: How Not to Spoil Your Kids, And What To Do If You Have By Richard Watts Review



For everything you give your child, you take something away.
ENTITLEMANIA IS AN EPIDEMIC. Well-intentioned parents across the country are enabling a ''me'' generation of children who lack the wisdom and satisfaction of accomplishment that only struggle and adversity can bring.

As a veteran advisor and legal counsel to America's most successful families, Richard Watts has seen the extremes of entitlement up close and wants to help you avoid creating it in your own children. Entitlemania will teach you how to redirect kids and repair adults who believe the world owes them something. Your greatest challenge may be learning to control your own actions!

Entitlemania will provide practical strategies like creating boundaries, walking your talk, and allowing children to fend for themselves. A groundbreaking book that sheds important light on an increasingly pervasive social trend affecting children at every age—and at every income bracket! The big takeaway for parents: You may have to let your children fail so they can learn how to succeed.

Purchase on Amazon 

Author
Richard Watts

Richard Watts, lawyer, author, speaker, and problem solver, is the wise counsel to many of America's wealthiest families. They rely on him to guide their families and journey through the rapids of life. From behind these castle walls, Richard provides the wisdom and counsel to avoid the pitfalls of excess and entitlement. The founder of Family Business Office ® ("FBO"), Richard was admitted to practice law in 1982 and is an alumnus of the Harvard Business School. He has appeared on numerous television programs and authored articles as an expert on how money often complicates the "simple life". Author of Fables of Fortune: What Rich People Have That You Don't Want, his next publication on the topic of Children of Entitlement: The Cause and Cure, is due out in 2016.

Richard and his wife of 37 years are residents of Laguna Beach, California. His passions include international travel with his wife and family, longboard surfing at San Onofre, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, piano, and music composition. He is the proud father of three adult sons; Aaron (wife Rene), Todd(wife Stephanie), and Russell, and grandfather to Maclane, Lucy, and Chandler.

Richard has a talent for creativity and will continue writing books in the Fables of Fortune series. Richard often speaks on these topics to business, religious, charitable, and parent organizations.

I received a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review-  No one parents perfectly and this book is not created to point fingers.  It is a great guide in training yourself and helping your children.  There is so much to say about this book and all good because the author writes such a great grouping of helpfulness.   Everything is laid out for you as the reader to just learn from and act on.

The World of Lights (The Beginning Book 1) by E.N. Nasimi Review

33390405
“It was noon but the entire world was covered in darkness …”

So begins a compelling tale of the near future, where two young people find themselves embroiled in an epic struggle for survival.

Adam is a gifted scientist who progresses from humble beginnings to a prestigious institute where he studies the Sun. Though he doesn't know it yet, the object of his interest is inhabited by an advanced race equally fascinated by the Earth. Their home faces extinction unless they can unite with humanity against a coming apocalypse and a shadowy group of rebels. The agent they send to make contact is the free-spirited and capable Inanna. When she encounters Adam, the two embark on a revelatory and perilous journey of discovery.

A tale of science-fiction and romance, The World of Lights also incorporates social, political and religious themes and will appeal to readers young and old.

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/ B01N4BI164

Goodreads
https://www.goodreads.com/ book/show/33390405-the-world- of-lights

I received a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review-  I think there may be a few meanings in this book that make it a deeper read.  It is not just a flat on the surface, written without thought  kind of read.   The author seems to place so much into the story that it brings everything to light.   I would recommend more so for older ages, just because of the intensity.   So the author wrote a good book one and I would actually read the book 2 if it becomes available.  

Making the Elephant Man: A Producer’s Memoir By Jonathan Sanger Review

30013699
The true story of John (Joseph) Merrick--a.k.a. the Elephant Man--has captured the imagination of generations of audiences, critics, actors and filmmakers. In 1978, producer Jonathan Sanger received a screenplay from two unknown writers about a hideously disfigured man who refused to fall victim to despair and instead exemplified human dignity. Reading it (twice), Sanger was determined that Merrick's story would be told.

This book is Sanger's unvarnished first-person account of how the The Elephant Man (1980) was made. His adventure in filmmaking--itself a study in triumph over despair--involved special effects nightmares, scheduling conflicts, location issues and many risky decisions. Assembling a team that included Mel Brooks (executive producer), David Lynch (director) and actors John Hurt and Anthony Hopkins, Sanger persevered in making this inspiring, award-winning film.


About The Author

Brooklyn born Jonathan Sanger is a highly respected producer and director of major films, television series, and theatrical productions, having earned twenty Academy Award nominations, and winning three.
 
In 1976, Sanger moved to Los Angles, where he worked for Lorimar Television on network television series The Blue Knight and Eight Is Enough. In 1978 he was Mel Brooks' Assistant Director on High Anxiety, which led to a long professional association. For Brooks' wife, Anne Bancroft's feature directorial debut film Fatso, Sanger served as Associate Producer. During this period Sanger had acquired the rights to the script of The Elephant Man – his first production which led to a successful career in both producing and directing films – films such as Frances, Without Limits, Vanilla Sky, Flight of the Navigator, The Producers, and Code Name: Emerald.
 
Sanger’s passion about film led him to create The Discovery Program, which offers the opportunity for film professionals of all types to create short films of their own without the assistance of big-budget studios.
 
Along with the release of his memoir, Sanger is looking forward to two movie releases in 2017, Chapter and Verse, an indie film about a reformed Harlem gangster, and Marshall, a film about a case in the early law career of the first African-American associate judge of the U.S. Supreme Court, Thurgood Marshall.

The book is available on Amazon and Goodreads and Barnes & Noble

For more information visit the author’s website: www.JonathanSangerProductions.com

I received a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review- I had known about this story a long time ago, but the book really gets deeper into it.  The author made this read a very enjoyable and interesting one.  If you have ever wondered how much goes on behind the scenes, this book is sure to please.

32 Yolks by Eric Ripert Review

25937923

For readers of Jacques P├ępin’s The Apprentice and Marcus Samuelsson’s Yes, Chef, here is the coming-of-age story of a true French chef and international culinary icon. Before he earned three Michelin stars at Le Bernardin, won the James Beard Foundation Award for Outstanding Chef, or became a regular guest judge on Bravo’s Top Chef, and even before he knew how to make a proper omelet, Eric Ripert was a young boy in the South of France who felt that his world had come to an end.

The only place Eric felt at home was in the kitchen. His desire to not only cook, but to become the best would lead him into some of the most celebrated and demanding restaurants in Paris.


I recevied a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review-  This is not a huge book of recipes, it is a telling of one man's life up to a point.   It kind of just leaves a blankness mid read.  I actually listened to an audio version and thought that maybe I lost a CD because it was like a lead up to but not a follow through.  Maybe that is what the author was going for, maybe this was just a small portion of a bigger life's picture?  What I did hear was a tale of levels of sadness mixed with a promise of a great future for the author.

Devotions for Easter By Zondervan Review

30649248

Prepare your heart and mind to celebrate the risen Savior.


It’s time for fresh spring blossoms, colored eggs, special recipes, and family gatherings. This year, with each tradition, small celebration, and new story, take the time to stop and discover the ways Jesus is showing His love for you. In remembering His Easter story—the greatest story ever told—your own will become that much sweeter.


The perfect companion for Lent, Devotions for Easter invites you to find the messages of hope and mercy God places in even the smallest moments of the season. Forty days of warm, inviting readings, prayers, scriptures, and beautiful images will take you through Christ’s journey toward the cross and the miracle of His resurrection. As new life emerges all around you, let your heart be filled with joyful worship of Christ and the renewal He brings.

I received a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review- The book is a beautiful reminder of the love of God and how it can be shared with your family.  Just by using this book within regular fun family traditions, it will become a great new way to bring a little more faith to your Easter.