Thursday, January 08, 2015

Welcome to the Love Your Pets Giveaway!

Welcome to the Love Your Pets Giveaway!
Sponsored by: Loving Pets
Hosted by: A Small Village
giveaway Enter to win all three of these prizes! Good Luck to everyone who enters.  
Disclosure: A Small Village received this product free in exchange for a review. No other participating bloggers are responsible for prize fulfillment.

Birth of a Destiny by T.R. Milne Blog Tour





Birth of a Destiny by T.R. Milne

YA Fantasy/Adventure

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Birth-Destiny-Light-Bearer-Book-ebook/dp/B00NGUG2DU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1412727654&sr=8-1&keywords=birth+of+a+destiny

Evil stalks her. True love finds her. Destiny claims her.

Rose wakes from a coma to find her life has changed forever.

Her parents were killed in the accident that nearly claimed her life. Now orphaned, her mother’s sister brings her to live in the country with her cousins, who quickly make their resentment known.

Once courageous and full of life, she only wants to be left alone to wallow in the murky shades of grief. Yet, evil stalks her dreams, and fate moves her towards her destiny.

Ghostly meetings, attacks under the cloak of storms, and a threatening dark presence brings danger and adventure to Rose, her cousin and new friend. Her special abilities, known to no one, must remain a secret – somehow.

The trio uncover a portal that takes them to a magical kingdom threatened by an evil creature thirsting for eternal darkness. Only one can stop him . . .

Already heart-broken after the loss of her parents, Rose struggles to deal with the hostility from her cousins, the constant danger, and the guilt that keeps her from Diamond, her horse. But, she is totally unprepared for a turn of events that has staggering consequences. Her special abilities are strengthened as she is tested, time and again.

Birth of a Destiny is the first book in the Light Bearer series. It is the beginning of a tale of a lost champion, found by fate and guided by love – growing through adversity and turmoil – on a journey that becomes a crusade. Readers will join Rose, a young girl crossing to a young woman who must travel dangerous and unexpected paths to recapture her warrior spirit, heal her heart and claim her destiny.

About the Author:



T.R. Milne was shaped as a writer by early childhood where she grew up in a haunted house on a farm where her imagination grew wild.

Her love affair with writing began nine years ago, when her first child was still a baby. Since then, between working part-time and parenting a brood of scrumptious children, she has been writing during little stitches of “free” time in coffee shops, kitchen tables, libraries, and her study.

She now lives with her husband and three children in Melbourne, Australia where she is a Change Manager and Author.

T.R. Milne finds inspiration for writing in all the things that bring light into her life T.R. Milne loves writing for Young Adults, stirring their fertile imaginations and eager sense of adventure. Birth of a Destiny, the first in the Light Bearer series, is her debut novel.


Favorite quotes from Birth of a Destiny
A loud crack - like a gunshot - echoed through the valley. Rose sat bolt upright and watched as the tree split in two in front of her. Too shocked to move, she saw tree roots pop out of the ground, and then wrap themselves around her. She waited for them to tighten, to squeeze the life out of her. But, instead, she felt herself being gently picked up and placed carefully inside the tree trunk. As soon as she was inside, the tree slammed shut so fast and so loudly that her eardrums hummed.

Grace floated to the edge of the rock, her image flickering with agitation. Then, very slowly, she lowered herself into the water until only her glowing head could be seen. Not in Rose's wildest dreams had she imagined a midnight swim with a ghost.

But it was the creatures eyes that told his story - ebony pits that spoke of a thousand years spent in the darkness with only hatred, evil, and death for company. Every part of Rose's being was sickened and repulsed, yet she knew that the thing possessed a dark power beyond any she had ever known. She knew they were lambs before a wolf.




The Awakening by Dorine White $25 Blog Tour Giveaway

Awakening
The Awakening by Dorine White The Awakening by Dorine White Nightmares really do come true, and for fifteen-year-old Kyler Birkwood, they are just beginning. Raised on a farm by his Aunt Martha, Kyler has no clue about the magical heritage swimming through his blood. When he discovers evidence of a mythical creature, a terrifying beast thought only to exist in fairy tales, his safe world shatters. Left at a school of magic to hunt for clues, he is overwhelmed and disbelieved. As loved ones begin disappearing and Orcs roam the land, Kyler must undergo a journey that takes him from the High Courts of the King to the unknown forests of the East. His magic just awakening, Kyler is the lone hope for a world that will not listen.
Purchase Your Copy
Praise for The Awakening "Dorine White delivers twists and turns to the plot that will keep you turning the pages." ~ Melanie Mason, author of the YA historical, The Line That Divides "The Awakening is a clever blend of folklore and fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. A furiously fun read!" ~ Laurisa Reyes, author of the YA thriller, Contact  

Excerpt 

Darcy

The night grew darker as a storm cloud passed over the moon. Darcy and Kyler backed up toward Henry, carrying Ralph’s body. They were almost halfway across the clearing when Henry screamed.
“Look out! It’s above you!”
Dropping Ralph to the ground, Darcy and Kyler took up defensive positions back-to-back, her with her sword and him with his staff. They fearfully looked toward the sky. Darcy could make out the outline of a great beast hovering above the ground, watching their rescue attempt. The Griffin let out a mighty shriek and charged. Its powerful body streaked downward, it sharp claws extended to rend flesh.
“Henry,” yelled Kyler. “Cover Ralph.”
As the monster approached, Darcy lashed out with her sword, aiming for its underbelly. Kyler ended up deflecting a claw that had been intent on ripping his eyes out. Together they managed to keep the Griffin from landing. Swinging with all her strength, Darcy sliced into the monster, leaving a trail of blood dripping from its hind leg. Henry ran into the fray, taking up a protective position over Ralph’s unconscious body while Darcy kept up her attack. She swung and thrust her sword, forcing the beast back, until it found ground enough to face her.
With a berserk holler, Kyler swung his staff at the beast, knocking it a stinging blow to the head. Unbalanced from Darcy’s attacks, the Griffin flew backward and landed with a loud crash on its nest. Darcy and Kyler took up defensive stances across from the wrecked nest as the Griffin slowly regained its footing, ruffling its feathers in irritation. The beast eyed both its young attackers, anger flashing in its green eyes.
Darcy watched the Griffin approach, and gave Kyler a cautious look.
“Back me up,” she said through gritted teeth.



  DorineAuthor Dorine White My name is Dorine White. I am a children's fantasy author and a book reviewer. I grew up back East in Maryland and attended BYU in Utah. I have a BA in Humanities with an interest in Art History and French. Currently I live in the beautiful, yet rainy Northwest with my husband and 6 children. My first novel was published in 2012 and is the beginning of the Cleopatra's Legacy series. The first two books are out, The Emerald Ring and The Ruby Pendant. Look for the third book, The Diamond Looking Glass in the summer of 2015.
  25_Amazon_Paypal $25 Blog Tour Giveaway Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 1/29/15 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by readinglight.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.   a Rafflecopter giveaway