Monday, August 29, 2016

Tackling the Fields Blog Tour and $75 Amazon GC Giveaway

Purchase your copy here.
About the Book

Cole Sanders is a changed man. The university quarterback questions his direction in life after serving on a mission trip in Honduras. Things that used to fill Cole’s ego seem empty after witnessing the developing country’s extreme poverty and the death of a precious child. The one glimmer of hope through his confusion is the fresh perspective he now has about his tutor, Audrey. She possesses something beautiful inside and out—something that might help him become the person he wants to be.

University senior Audrey Vaughn tutored Cole Sanders for an entire year and never imagined the popular quarterback would see her as anything more than a friend. After partnering with him on the mission trip, they are drawn together. And he appears to have changed for the better. To let Cole into her life, Audrey will have to overcome not only her brother’s distrust, but also the paralyzing fear still lingering from a past she’s tried to leave behind.

Cole can’t walk away from Audrey now that they’re back in Oxford. He’ll have to figure out how to keep her giant of a brother, a lineman on his football team, from killing him when the coach has his back turned. But can Audrey trust her heart to a player so similar to the one who stole so much from her in the past?
My Review

This is by far my favorite book in the Southern Heart series! I am so glad Janet decided to write this story about Cole and Audrey. Both with broken pasts, but promising futures. This book reminded me that with God, all things are possible. It doesn’t matter what happened in the past, what matters is relying on Him for the future.

Faith played a big part in the journey of Cole and Audrey, but I love that Janet wrote realistically. Not everyone has perfect faith and we all fall every now and then, but the wonderful part is that God is there waiting for us. Another part of this book that touched home for me was the power of forgiveness. I not spoil the story, but forgiveness was an important issue towards the last third of the book. I think it’s something we all struggle with actually. Janet again shows her ability to write realistically, yet in a hopeful way for us to look back on for years to come.

I am eagerly awaiting the release of the fourth book in this series….but this is going to be one tough act to follow!! I received a complimentary copy of this book from CelebrateLit in exchange for an honest review which I have given.

About the Author

Janet W. Ferguson grew up in Mississippi and received a degree in Banking and Finance from the University of Mississippi. She has served her church as a children’s minister and a youth volunteer. An avid reader, she worked as a librarian at a large public high school. Janet and her husband have two grown children, one really smart dog, and a few cats that allow them to share the space.


To celebrate her tour, Janet is giving away a $50 Amazon gift card Click here to enter:

1 comment:

Please leave a comment and remember to leave a contact email if need be.