Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Back-to-School Blues Book Blog Tour and Reviews @GoSparkPoint

Bridge of the Gods by Diane Rios

Twelve-year-old Chloe Ashton is an only child living in the remote wilderness of Oregon. She spends her days happily exploring the forests around her home, and is astonished to find the animals seem to know her, to follow her, and even try to speak to her. When a family tragedy results in Chloe's abduction and sale to the vagabonds, she is taken deeper into the woods, and finds out just how much the animals know. As Chloe struggles to survive, she finds that an ancient, natural magic still exists deep within the forests. This magic is the only thing that stands between her and the evil rising in the land.

Cassandra's Review- A great adventure book.  I really like the fantasy involved and the creative way the author chose to make the animals become more...



The Forbidden Temptation of Baseball by Dori Jones Yang

Despite his impulsive and curious nature, twelve-year-old Leon is determined to follow the Emperor’s rules—to live with an American family, study hard, and return home to modernize China. But he also must keep the braid that shows his loyalty—and resist such forbidden American temptations as baseball. As Leon overcomes teasing and makes friends, his elder brother becomes increasingly alienated and disturbed. Eventually, Leon faces a tough decision, torn between his loyalty to his birth country—and his growing love for his new home.

The Forbidden Temptation of Baseball is a lively, poignant, and nuanced novel based on a little-known episode from history, when 120 boys were sent to New England by the Emperor of China in the 1870s.

Cassandra's Review- The book takes the reader on an era based adventure and shows them the emotional journey of that time for one boy especially.  The author writes to bring this story to life as you read it.


The Raven God by Alane Adams

Introducing the third and final installment in the Legends of Orkney series by Alane Adams. The perfect read for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter, The Legends of Orkney series is a riveting fantasy with its roots in Norse mythology.

In this installment, Sam Baron and his friends are out to save the realm of Orkney from the God of Mischief, Loki, and the rest of the evils still present. With time running out, our heroes try frantically to prove once again that they can find the courage to do what’s needed when the odds are stacked against them, even when the sacrifice asked is greater than any of them could imagine.

Cassandra's Review-  I would have read book one and two first because now as the final book the story, even though it is a great standalone, should have had the others to great the bigger atmosphere.  Now I would not go back and read the first two because how how it is written, there is not much more to really delve into.   I would recommend trying these books in order and hope to get a great reading experience.


I received complimentary copies.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment and remember to leave a contact email if need be.